Eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga represents oral tradition knowledge about Yoga gathered in an ancient Indian text known as Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.

Yoga Sutras are aphorisms about philosophy and practice of Yoga.  The ultimate goal of practicing eight limbs is the ability to silence the mind in order to achieve the state of pure consciousness.

Ashtanga Yoga includes following eight limbs:

Yama – social code of conduct
Nyama – personal code of conduct
Asana – posture
Pranayama – control of prana (life energy)
Pratyahara – withdrawal of the senses
Dharana – concentration
Dhyana – meditation
Samadhi – state of supreme consciousness

Eight limbs (path of Yoga) shouldn’t be mistaken with Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga.

Ashtanga Vinyasa represents a dynamic Asana practice with clear rules about the sequence and number of breaths each posture is held.

Yoga Path Within offers only private Ashtanga Vinyasa classes customized for beginners. The reason why I am focusing on complete beginners is because I want help students to understand each posture before they move to the next one.

During the class we practice together postures from Primary series.  Only after you become strong enough the do the required number of repetitions of Sun Salutations you proceed to the Fundamental series sequence. After Fundamental series are clarified and you gain confidence with those postures, with time more postures from Primary series will be added. Sequences are defined and followed by Ujjayi breathing.

Considering that the emphasis of my teaching is on the individual approach, I will continue to offer modifications until you are able to practice the full pose. Consequently as the Asana practice, breath control and movement with the breath evolves, we will include more aspects of the Eight limbs in the practice.

If you would like to challenge your discipline, join me on the mat.

Click the image to zoom in:

Ashtanga Primary Series Chart _ Devvrat Yoga Sangha

Courtesy of Devvrat Yoga https://www.devvratyoga.com/